With the World Health Organisation having declared the Corona Virus – Covid 19 a global pandemic, and in line with the Government’s no-nonsense approach and the declared national state of disaster, Squash South Africa has with immediate effect postponed all Leagues, (Masters, Senior, Junior, Schools): all Tournaments (Masters, Seniors, Clubs, Juniors, Schools), Sports Art and Culture funded development programmes) until after the Easter Weekend.
The Squash South Africa Executive will be meeting on Wednesday 19th March and action plans will be discussed and put in place for when normal activity will be allowed to return.

The Blitz league finals took place on Thursday, 20 February. CBCOB won the men’s final against Uitsig and Tuks won the Ladies’ final against CBCOB. Centurion beat Glenwood in the Men’s Reserve league final.

Here are the full results of all the final round play-offs:

Home team Away team League Result
CBT001 UIT001 Men 1st – 1/2 13-4
PCC001 UIT002 Men 1st – 3/4 12-6
CSI001 HAD001 Men 1st – 5/6 5-14
PHS001 PCC002 Men 1st – 7/8 14-6
TUK001 IRE001 Men 1st – 9/10 16-1
TUKL01 CBTL01 Ladies – 1/2 12-6
HADL01 TUKL02 Ladies – 3/4 11-8
UITL01 PHSL01 Ladies – 5/6 13-5
UITL02 PCCL01 Ladies – 7/8 13-5
CEN001 GLE001 Men Res – 1/2 16-1
HAD002 TUK002 Men Res – 3/4 8-13
UIT003 CEN002 Men Res – 5/6 12-7
UIT004 CSI002 Men Res – 7/8 16-6
PHS002 PCC003 Men Res – 9/10 7-14









The final positions were as follows:

1 CBT001 TUKL01 CEN001
2 UIT001 CBTL01 GLE001
3 PCC001 HADL01 TUK002
4 UIT002 TUKL02 HAD002
5 HAD001 UITL01 UIT003
6 CSI001 PHSL01 CEN002
7 PHS001 UITL02 UIT004
8 PCC002 PCCL01 CSI002
9 TUK001 PCC003
10 IRE001 PHS002

Here are the draws for the Blitz league semifinals that take place tonight, Tuesday 18 February:

Home team Away team League Venue Court
PCC001 CBT001 Men 1st – 1 CBT 1
UIT001 UIT002 Men 1st – 2 PCC 2
CSI001 PHS001 Men 1st – 3 CBT 2
HAD001 PCC002 Men 1st – 4 PCC 1
TUKL01 HADL01 Ladies – 1 PCC 3
CBTL01 TUKL02 Ladies – 2 PCC 4
UITL01 UITL02 Ladies – 3 PCC 5
PCCL01 PHSL01 Ladies – 4 PCC 6
CEN001 HAD002 Men Res – 1 HAD 2
TUK002 GLE001 Men Res – 2 HAD 1
UIT003 UIT004 Men Res – 3 HAD 3
CSI002 CEN002 Men Res – 4 HAD 4

Herewith the 2020 Blitz league schedule and court allocations – NSA Blitz league fixtures 2020.

Please note that the fixtures are on the Northerns admin system at but the court allocations are according to the attached and not what is indicated on the system. Matches will start at 18h00 as always.

The team shown as the Home team on the schedule is responsible for providing the ball(s) for the fixture. Any catering required should be arranged between the teams in co-ordination with the venue.

Scores must be captured within 2 working days as usual otherwise both teams will get zero points. After the pool stages further draws will be sent out manually. Scores will also have to be submitted manually for the play-off stages.

After the finals on 20 February there will be a short prize giving function at Tuks court 1. Food and beverages will be available on the evening and we request your support on the night – bring your club supporters and come and watch the finals.

On Thursday night it was PCC and Harlequins who walked away with the winners’ trophies for the Men and Ladies 1st league sides respectively, after a hard fought 7 rounds of Blitz league.

PCC beat Centurion 13-3 with only Sam Siame bending the knee against JP Brits in the number 1 position, losing 1-3. The rest of the PCC team of Nell van der Merwe, Mikael Clayton and Craig Ruane all got the better of their Centurion counterparts Jason Phillips, Xander Robinson and Pieter Albertyn and the scores were 3-0 in all 3 those matches.

Harlequins Ladies narrowly beta Tuks 8-6 in the last round of the ladies Blitz round robin to take honours with 54 points, 14 ahead of Tuks in second place.

In the new Men’s reserve Blitz league PHSOB beat Uitsig by 16-3 in the final.

Here are the full results of the 2019 Blitz league: Blitz League 2019.

Tuesday evening saw Centurion and Pretoria Country Club emerging as the winners of their respective semi-finals in the 2019 Blitz league for 1st teams. They will play in the finals on court 1 at PCC on Thursday. The two Uitsig teams will contest the 3/4 play-off on court 4.

In the men’s Reserve league it will be Uitsig against PHSOB on court 3 at PCC on Thursday after they defeated Tuks and CSIR respectively in the semi-finals. These two teams will be in action on court 6 in the 3/4 play-off.

The ladies will play their last round in the round robin in what is effectively a final, since Harlequins and Tuks are the leading two teams after the first 4 rounds. They will play on court 2, with CBT v PCC on court 5 in a match that could determine who ends 3rd.

There will be a short prize giving function after the finals.

Here are the full draws with results to date: Blitz League 2019.

Blitz league starts on Monday 4 February with 2 significant changes this year:

  • Men’s reserve league teams will also play a Blitz league this year;
  • Blitz league is spread over 3 weeks instead of 2.

Club members are encouraged to support their teams. Here are the draws for the men for week 1 – the ladies only start in week 2.

Here are the full draws for Blitz league. Venues for the semi finals will be determined later.

Welcome back to the Northerns Squash community after the holidays. The new season starts with a bang and there are a significant number of events scheduled for the first 2 months of the year. The calendar is full but some careful planning will let you get the most out of your squash year.

A comprehensive 2019 year planner for Northerns Squash is available on the Calendar page. Links to the full Squash SA and SA Schools calendars can also be found there.

Here are the highlights for January and February:


  • 19 Jan – last day for club transfers
  • 22 Jan – last day to enter league teams
  • 29 Jan – Blitz league entries close
  • 4, 7, 11, 14, 18, 19, 21 Feb – Blitz league dates
  • 15 & 16 Feb – Lower leagues Blitz tournament (5th to 14th league Men, Reserve to 2nd league ladies)
  • 27 Feb – Week 1 of Winter league starts


  • 25 to 27 Jan – Easterns Wilson Open tournament & KZN Open tournament
  • 27 Jan – Serious Fun tournament
  • 28 Jan – High Schools league entries close
  • 31 Jan – Bloemfontein Open entries close
  • 1 to 3 Feb – NJSA Round Robin tournament & Central Gauteng Open
  • 15 to 17 Feb – North West Open tournament & DSG Squash Festival
  • 11, 18, 25 Feb – High Schools league fixtures
  • 22 Feb – Serious Fun tournament
  • 22 to 24 Feb – Boland Open tournament


  • NMSA Satellite 1 tournament MOVED to May.

The annual Northerns Squash Federation Awards function takes place on 1 November 2018 at the Voortrekker Monument. At the function the top performers of the Province will be honoured for their achievements through the season.

Here are a list of the highlights of the awards that will be made (not all listed):

  • NSA league winners and runners-up and the winners of league trophies
  • NSA merit awards – special awards from the Growthpoint IPT (previously known as the Jarvis/Kaplan tournament) and USSA tournament, team awards from the Growthpoint IPT, player of the year, NSA Chairman’s award
  • NMSA player of the year and Chairman’s award
  • NJSA merit awards, IPT winners, SA Top 10 players and SA team members to the Junior World championships
  • Northerns Squash Federation player of the year and President’s award.

Book your ticket at the following link and make payment of the R260 ticket fee to your club – bookings.

Check on the list below the form to make sure your booking was accepted. If you’re not on the list, please make another booking.

Teams in green won the fixture, teams in red lost: